<u>Government announces appointments to</u> <u>Communications Authority</u>

The Government today (March 15) announced that the Chief Executive has reappointed Dr Hubert Chan Chung-yee and Ms Amy Fung Dun-mi, as well as newly appointed Ms Wendy Yuen Miu-ling, as members of the Communications Authority (CA). The tenure of their appointments is two years with effect from April 1, 2024.

Commenting on the appointments, the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Algernon Yau, said, "I would like to welcome Ms Wendy Yuen as a new member of the CA. With her rich experience gained from the business sector and professional knowledge, she will offer valuable insights into the CA's work. I am also pleased that two CA members, Dr Hubert Chan and Ms Amy Fung, have been reappointed. Their extensive experience and professional acumen will be of continued benefit to the work of the CA."

Mr Yau also expressed gratitude to the outgoing member, Professor Karen Chan Ka-yin, for her significant contributions to and support for the CA in the past six years.

A brief profile of the newly appointed non-official member is as follows:

Ms Wendy Yuen Miu-ling

Ms Yuen is the Deputy Head of Personal & Business Banking Group and Head of Distribution of China CITIC Bank International Limited. She is currently a member of the Federation of Hong Kong Industries General Committee, the Social Welfare Advisory Committee, the Customs and Excise Service Children's Education Trust Fund Committee, and the Vetting Committee of the Trade and Industrial Organisation Support Fund, and a panel member of the Insurance Appeals Tribunal.

The membership of the CA from April 1, 2024, will be as follows:

Chairman

Ms Winnie Tam Wan-chi

Vice-chairman

Permanent Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development

Non-official members

Dr Hubert Chan Chung-yee

Mr Nicholas Chan Hiu-fung

Ms Amy Fung Dun-mi

Mr Michael Hui Wah-kit Professor Vincent Lau Kin-nang Mr Patrick Law Fu-yuen Professor Leung Siu-fai Mr Simon Wong Kwong-yeung Ms Wendy Yuen Miu-ling

Official member

Director-General of Communications