<u>Government announces appointments to</u> <u>Communications Authority</u>

The Government today (March 19) announced that the Chief Executive has re-appointed Ms Winnie Tam Wan-chi as the Chairman of the Communications Authority (CA) for a term of two years from April 1, 2021, to March 31, 2023.

The Chief Executive has also appointed two new members, Mr Patrick Law Fu-yuen and Professor Leung Siu-fai, to the CA, and re-appointed the Permanent Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development (Communications and Creative Industries) as the Vice-chairman, and Mr Stephen Hung Wan-shun, Mr Benjamin Tang Kwok-bun, Professor Vincent Lau Kin-nang and Mr Simon Wong Kwong-yeung as members, all for a term of two years from April 1, 2021, to March 31, 2023.

Commenting on the appointments, the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Edward Yau, said, "I am pleased that Ms Tam has been reappointed as the Chairman of the CA. With her excellent leadership and professional background, I am confident that she will continue to lead the CA and meet the challenges ahead."

Mr Yau also welcomed the two new members to the CA, who come from the accounting and academic sectors respectively, saying that their rich experience and professional expertise will be valuable to the CA's work. He also thanked the outgoing member, Mrs Yvonne Law Shing Mo-han, for her contributions to the CA.

Brief profiles of the newly-appointed non-official members are as follows:

Mr Patrick Law Fu-yuen

Mr Patrick Law is the Partner and Deputy Assurance Leader (Hong Kong & Macau) of Ernst & Young, a multinational accounting firm. He is a member of the Competition Commission and the Process Review Panel for the Insurance Authority.

Professor Leung Siu-fai

Professor Leung is Professor of Economics at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. He is also a member of the Commission on Poverty, Telecommunications (Competition Provisions) Appeal Board, the Securities and Futures Appeals Tribunal and the Air Transport Licensing Authority.

Membership of the CA from April 1, 2021, will be as follows:

Chairman

Ms Winnie Tam Wan-chi

Vice-chairman

Permanent Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development (Communications and Creative Industries)

Non-official members

Dr Hubert Chan Chung-yee
Professor Karen Chan Ka-yin
Ms Amy Fung Dun-mi
Mr Stephen Hung Wan-shun
Professor Vincent Lau Kin-nang
Mr Patrick Law Fu-yuen
Professor Leung Siu-fai
Mr Benjamin Tang Kwok-bun
Mr Simon Wong Kwong-yeung

Official member

Director-General of Communications