Government announces appointments to Committee on Reduction of Salt and Sugar in Food

The Government announced today (March 15) the reappointment of Mr Cheung Leong as the Chairperson of the Committee on Reduction of Salt and Sugar in Food. In addition, seven new members have been appointed and nine incumbent members have been reappointed to the Committee. All appointments are for a period of three years from March 15, 2024, to March 14, 2027.

Members of the Committee comprise representatives from various sectors, including the food industry, relevant academia, education, media and social services sectors. The key task of the Committee is to offer recommendations to the Environment and Ecology Bureau on matters relating to reduction of the intake of salt and sugar by the public, as well as reduction of salt and sugar in food.

The Secretary for Environment and Ecology, Mr Tse Chin-wan, welcomed the new members and expressed his gratitude for the contributions of the outgoing members, namely Mr Kiyotaka Ando, Mr Andrew Chan Kam-chuen, Mr Ryan Cheung, Mr Peter Paul Joseph Johnston, Mr Francis Lo Fai-shing, Miss Winona Lo Oiling, Mr Gerry Ma Kwai-yung, Mr Frankie Siu and Mr Rogers Yuen Lai-boon.

"The Committee has been providing invaluable and practical advice to the Environment and Ecology Bureau on initiatives to reduce the salt and sugar intake of the general public and I look forward to receiving advice from them in the future," Mr Tse, said.

The full membership of the Committee on Reduction of Salt and Sugar in Food for the new term, which will take effect on March 15, 2024, is as follows:

Chairperson

Mr Cheung Leong

Non-official members

Mr Dion Chen

Ms Christa Cheung Shuk-fung

Mr Chong Yue-kwan *

Mr Chow Tsz-lit *

Mr Rayman Chui Man-wai *

Ms May Chung Mei-ling

Mr William Hung Wai-lai

Mr Carrel Kam Lin-wang *

Ms Dorcas Lau Shing-suet

Mrs Linda Lau Hung Man-yin Ms Leung Wai-yan * Ms Alice Ng Yim-ting Professor Wong Man-sau Dr Leslie Wong Pak-yuen * Miss Danica Yau Ching Mr Yip Siu-kwong *

Ex-officio members

Representative of the Environment and Ecology Bureau Representative of the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department Representative of the Department of Health Representative of the Education Bureau

^{*} New members