<u>Government announces appointments to</u> <u>Board of Directors of Hong Kong Genome</u> <u>Institute</u>

The Government announced the appointments to the Board of Directors of the Hong Kong Genome Institute (HKGI) today (November 15).

The Secretary for Health has reappointed Mr Philip Tsai Wing-chung and Professor Raymond Liang Hin-suen as the Chairperson and the Deputy Chairperson of the HKGI respectively, with their tenure ending on July 26, 2026.

Separately, a total of 12 non-official Directors have also been reappointed, while three non-official Directors, namely Professor Allen Chan Kwan-chee, Professor Herbert Chia Pun-kok and Professor Ian Wong Chi-kei, have been newly appointed. The tenure of all non-official Directors will end on November 4, 2026.

The HKGI, a private company limited by guarantee and wholly owned by the Government, commenced full operation in 2021 to implement the Hong Kong Genome Project (HKGP) as its first key initiative. The HKGI is committed to fostering the development of genomic medicine in Hong Kong. With support from the Health Bureau, it has been closely collaborating with the Department of Health, the Hospital Authority, the medical schools of local universities and other stakeholders to accelerate the integration of genomic medicine into clinical applications, advance scientific research, nurture talent and enhance public genomic literacy.

The Secretary for Health, Professor Lo Chung-mau, said, "As the HKGP progresses towards a new stage, the Government anticipates that the HKGI will actively use genomic data in formulating a directory for inherited and rare diseases to facilitate early diagnosis and treatment by clinical teams, while supporting drug research and development as well as clinical trials to drive the development of Hong Kong into an international health and medical innovation hub.

"I am confident that, under the sterling leadership of Mr Tsai and Professor Liang, together with support from the Board comprising members with extensive experience in diverse fields, the future development of the HKGI will scale new heights and benefit more patients in future."

Professor Lo also expressed gratitude to the retired members, namely Professor Chan Wai-yee and Professor Alfonso Ngan Hing-wan, for their staunch support and invaluable contributions to the work of the HKGI during their tenure.

The latest membership of the Board of Directors of the HKGI is as

follows:

Chairperson:	Mr Philip Tsai Wing-chung
Deputy Chairperson: Pi	ofessor Raymond Liang Hin-suen
	Professor Allen Chan Kwan-chee
	Mr Ray Chan
	Ms Ivy Cheung Wing-han
	Professor Herbert Chia Pun-kok
	Professor Wallace Lau Chak-sing
	Dr Shawn Leung Shui-on
	Dr Isabella Liu
	Professor Dennis Lo Yuk-ming
	Mr Tim Pang Hung-cheong
	Mr Stephen Wong Kai-yi
	Professor Ian Wong Chi-kei
	Dr Michael Wong Lap-gate
	Professor Wong Yung-hou
	Professor Yip Shea-ping
	Professor Yiu Siu-ming
	Chief Executive Officer, Hong Kong Genome
Institute	chief Executive officer, hong kong denome
Institute	(Dr Lo Su-vui)
Official Directors:	
UTICIAL DITECTORS:	Under Secretary for Health
	(Dr Libby Lee Ha-yun)
	Deputy Secretary for Health
	(Mr Sam Hui Chark-shum)
	Deputy Director of Health
	(Dr Teresa Li Mun-pik)