Germany, Indonesia, South Africa, Dominican Republic, Belgium, elected to Security Council

In a single round of voting on Friday, the United Nations General Assembly elected five new non-permanent Members of the Security Council, who will each serve two-year terms on the body that sets the UN's whole peace and security agenda.

Germany, Indonesia, South Africa, the Dominican Republic and Belgium, will take up their seats from 1 January 2019.

They will fill the seats being vacated by Bolivia, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan, Netherlands and Sweden at the end of this year, having each served two-year terms on the <u>15-member</u> Security Council.

Under the <u>UN Charter</u>, the Security Council has the primary <u>responsibility</u> for international peace and security, with all UN Member States required to comply with Council decisions.

The Council's ten non-permanent seats, are allocated according to a rotation pattern set by the Assembly in 1963, to ensure fair regional representation on the Council: five from African and Asian and Pacific States; one from Eastern Europe; two from Latin American States; and two from Western European and Other States (WEOG).

Belgium and Germany; the Dominican Republic, and South Africa, ran unopposed from their respective regional groups, while Indonesia secured its place following a run-off with the Maldives for the Asia-Pacific Group seat.

This will be the Dominican Republic's first time on the Security Council with the other four countries having <u>previously served</u> on the body.

The other five seats on the Council — known as permanent seats — are held by China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States.