Geographical constituency boundary maps in respect of 2021 Legislative Council General Election available for public viewing

The maps and descriptions of the delineation of geographical constituencies (GCs) for the 2021 Legislative Council General Election (LCGE) were uploaded to the Electoral Affairs Commission website (www.eac.hk) for public viewing today (June 1).

The Legislative Council (LegCo) on May 27 passed the Improving Electoral System (Consolidated Amendments) Ordinance 2021 (the Ordinance), which was published in the Gazette on May 31. The delineation of the GCs for the 2021 LCGE also came into effect on the same day.

In accordance with the Legislative Council Ordinance (Cap. 542) as amended by the Ordinance, there are 10 GCs, and two Members will be returned for each GC. Ten GCs will return a total of 20 Members in the LegCo.

The 10 GCs are Hong Kong Island East (comprising Eastern District and Wan Chai District), Hong Kong Island West (comprising Central and Western District, Southern District and Islands District), Kowloon East (comprising Kwun Tong District and south-eastern part of Wong Tai Sin District), Kowloon West (comprising Yau Tsim Mong District and Sham Shui Po District), Kowloon Central (comprising Kowloon City District and north-western part of Wong Tai Sin District), New Territories South East (comprising Sai Kung District and eastern part of Sha Tin District), New Territories North (comprising North District and north-western part of Yuen Long District), New Territories North West (comprising Tuen Mun District and south-eastern part of Yuen Long District), New Territories South West (comprising Kwai Tsing District and Tsuen Wan District) and New Territories North East (comprising Tai Po District and western part of Sha Tin District).

The number of Members of the seventh term LegCo is increased from 70 to 90, including 40 Members returned by the Election Committee Constituency, 30 Members returned by Functional Constituencies, and 20 Members returned by GCs through elections.

Members of the public can visit the Home Affairs Enquiry Centres of all District Offices, the Registration and Electoral Office, management offices of public housing estates, and major and district public libraries to view the maps starting from June 10.

For enquiries, please call the Registration and Electoral Office hotline on 2891 1001.