<u>Geographical constituency boundaries</u> <u>for 2020 Legislative Council General</u> <u>Election</u>

The Chief Executive in Council has accepted all the recommendations of the Electoral Affairs Commission (EAC) regarding the boundaries and the names of geographical constituencies (GCs) and the allocation of seats to each GC for the seventh-term Legislative Council (LegCo) general election in 2020.

A government spokesman said today (October 16) that the decision of the Chief Executive in Council would be effected by way of the Declaration of Geographical Constituencies (Legislative Council) Order 2019, which will be published in the Gazette on Friday (October 18) and tabled at LegCo on October 23 for negative vetting.

The report of the EAC, submitted to the Chief Executive on September 3, was tabled at LegCo today as required by law.

The EAC recommended that the boundaries and names of the five existing GCs should remain unchanged. The five GCs are Hong Kong Island (comprising Central and Western District, Wan Chai District, Eastern District and Southern District); Kowloon West (comprising Yau Tsim Mong District, Sham Shui Po District and Kowloon City District); Kowloon East (comprising Wong Tai Sin District and Kwun Tong District); New Territories West (comprising Tsuen Wan District, Tuen Mun District, Yuen Long District, Kwai Tsing District and Islands District); and New Territories East (comprising North District, Tai Po District, Sha Tin District and Sai Kung District).

A total of 35 seats will be allocated to the five GCs. According to the population distribution, the EAC proposed to allocate five seats for Kowloon East, six seats each for Hong Kong Island and Kowloon West, and nine seats each for New Territories West and New Territories East.

The EAC conducted a public consultation on its provisional recommendations on the GC boundaries from May 8 to June 6 this year.

"Before making its final recommendations, the EAC has given careful consideration to all the representations received. The EAC also examined various options on the basis of the relevant statutory requirements and criteria and established working principles," the spokesman said.

"The making of the Declaration of Geographical Constituencies (Legislative Council) Order 2019 is an important step in the preparation for the seventh-term LegCo general election to be held in 2020. In the year ahead, the Government and the EAC will put in place all necessary arrangements to facilitate the conduct of the election," he said.

The EAC report is available for public viewing at all Public Enquiry

Service Centres of District Offices and the Registration and Electoral Office during ordinary business hours starting from today. The report can also be viewed at the EAC's website (<u>www.eac.hk</u>).