## <u>First Minister appoints new</u> Ministerial team

Dafydd Elis Thomas will join the Government as Minister for Culture, Tourism and Sport, with Ken Skates remaining as Cabinet Secretary for Economy and Transport.

Vaughan Gething remains Cabinet Secretary for Health and Social Services, with Huw Irranca-Davies as his deputy as Minister for Children and Social Care.

Mark Drakeford remains Cabinet Secretary for Finance. Responsibility for Local Government moves to Alun Davies as Cabinet Secretary for Local Government and Public Services, supported by Rebecca Evans, Minister for Housing and Regeneration.

Lesley Griffiths remains Cabinet Secretary for Energy, Planning and Rural Affairs, with Hannah Blythyn joining the Government as Minister for Environment.

Kirsty Williams remains Cabinet Secretary for Education, with Eluned Morgan joining the Government as Minister for Welsh Language and Lifelong Learning.

Julie James joins the Cabinet as Leader of the House and Chief Whip, with responsibility for digital infrastructure and equalities.

Jeremy Miles will be nominated for the role of Counsel General, the Welsh Government's chief legal advisor.

First Minister Carwyn Jones said:

"I am proud to announce my new Ministerial team, which provides a balance of experience and stability, with new drive and energy.

"This strong team will drive forward our ambitious plans for Wales — focusing on growing the Welsh economy, creating jobs, supporting our public services and improving the day-to-day lives of the people of Wales."

Ministerial portfolios and responsibilities:

- First Minister of Wales, Rt Hon Carwyn Jones
- Counsel General Designate, Jeremy Miles
- Cabinet Secretary for Local Government and Public Services, Alun Davies
- Cabinet Secretary for Finance, Mark Drakeford
- Cabinet Secretary for Health and Social Services, Vaughan Gething
- Cabinet Secretary for Energy, Planning and Rural Affairs, Lesley Griffiths

- Cabinet Secretary for Economy and Transport, Ken Skates
- Cabinet Secretary for Education, Kirsty Williams
- Leader of the House and Chief Whip, Julie James
- Minister for Culture, Tourism and Sport, Dafydd Elis-Thomas (Deputy to Ken Skates)
- Minister for Housing and Regeneration, Rebecca Evans (Deputy to Alun Davies)
- Minister for Environment, Hannah Blythyn (Deputy to Lesley Griffiths)
- Minister for Welsh Language and Lifelong Learning, Eluned Morgan (Deputy to Kirsty Williams)
- Minister for Children and Social Care, Huw Irranca-Davies (Deputy to Vaughan Gething)