EASO Management Board elects new Chairperson

At the 38th European Asylum Support Office's (EASO) Management Board meeting, held on 18 March 2021, the new Chairperson, Mr. Mikael Ribbenvik, who is the Member of the Board from Sweden, was elected following the retirement of Dr. David Costello, who was the Chairperson of the Board since February 2019. Following his election, Mr. Ribbenvik took up his responsibilities with immediate effect.

Mr. Ribbenvik has been the Swedish member of the EASO Management Board since 2013 and served as deputy Chairperson of the Board since 2019. Mr. Ribbenvik has over 20 years of experience in the field of asylum and migration and currently serves as Director-General of the Swedish Migration Agency.

At the same meeting, the Management Board adopted the <u>EASO Strategy on Reception</u>. The Strategy intends to redefine and activate the full application of EASO's mandate, and strengthen, harmonise and better coordinate EASO's activities on reception from a technical, training and operational point of view. The Management Board welcomed the EASO Strategy on Reception and considered it an important instrument in enhancing the effectiveness of the CEAS.

The Management Board also adopted Decision number 71 on Governance Monitoring Indicators and Quarterly Reporting (Repealing Decision no 60).

During the meeting, the Agency also provided the Management Board with an overview on the main results achieved in 2020 in the implementation of its Work Programme and Budget.

The Management Board was also updated on EASO's Operations in Italy, Greece, Cyprus, Malta and Spain and took stock on the key highlights from the Annual Trends Analysis Report for 2020.

Any further information may be obtained from the European Asylum Support Office on the following email address: press@easo.europa.eu