Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the European Union on the alignment of certain countries concerning serious human rights violations and abuses

×

On 07 December 2020, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2020/1999^[1] concerning restrictive measures against serious human rights violations and abuses.

The Council Decision establishes a framework for targeted restrictive measures to address serious human rights violations and abuses worldwide.

The Candidate Countries the Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania^[2], the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA country Norway, member of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, Armenia and Georgia align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

^[1] Published on 07.12.2020 in the Official Journal of the European Union n° . L 410 I, p. 13.

^[2] The Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.