Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the European Union on the alignment of certain countries concerning restrictive measures in view of Turkey's unauthorised drilling activities in the Eastern Mediterranean



On 6 November 2020, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2020/1657[1] concerning restrictive measures in view of Turkey's unauthorised drilling activities in the Eastern Mediterranean.

The Council Decision extends the existing restrictive measures for a further twelve months, until 12 November 2021.

The Candidate Countries the Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania[2], and the EFTA country Iceland, member of the European Economic Area, as well as Armenia align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

^[1] Published on 9.11.2020 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 372 I, p.16.

^[2] The Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.