Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the European Union on the alignment of certain countries concerning restrictive measures against Syria

×

On 6 November 2020, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2020/1651[1] implementing Council Decision 2013/255/CFSP.

The Council added eight persons to the list of natural and legal persons, entities or bodies subject to restrictive measures in Annex I to Decision 2013/255/CFSP.

The Candidate Countries the Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania[2], and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova and Georgia align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

[1] Published on 09.11.2020 in the Official Journal of the European Union no L 370 I/15

[2] The Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.