Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain third countries concerning restrictive measures in view of the situation in South Sudan

Press contacts

Catherine Ray

Lead EEAS spokesperson +32 2 296 99 21 +32 498 96 99 21

Maja Kocijančič

EEAS spokesperson +32 2 298 65 70 +32 498 98 44 25

On 2 February 2018, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2018/168[1] amending Council Decision (CFSP) 2015/740. The Council added three persons to the list of persons and entities subject to restrictive measures.

The Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Montenegro*, Serbia* and Albania*, the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of Moldova and Armenia, align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

[1] Published on 3.02.2018 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 31, p.86.

*The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

Download as pdf