Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain third countries concerning restrictive measures against the proliferation and use of chemical weapons



On 12 October 2020, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2020/1466[11].

The Council Decision renewed the existing restrictive measures until 16 October 2021, and updated one entry on the list of natural and legal persons, entities and bodies subject to restrictive measures as set out in the Annex of Decision (CFSP) 2018/1544.

The Candidate Countries the Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania. the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Iceland and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and Georgia align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

Published on 13.10.2020 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 335. p.16.

The Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.