Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain third countries concerning restrictive measures against the Democratic People's Republic of Korea

## Press contacts

## **Catherine Ray**

Lead EEAS spokesperson +32 2 296 99 21 +32 498 96 99 21

## <u>Maja Kocijančič</u>

EEAS spokesperson +32 2 298 65 70 +32 498 98 44 25

On 22 January 2018 the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2018/89[1]. amending Council Decision (CFSP) 2016/849.

The Decision amends the list of persons and entities subject to restrictive measures as set out in Annex III to Decision (CFSP) 2016/849 by adding seventeen persons to the Annex.

The Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia\*, Montenegro\*, Serbia\* and Albania\*, the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova and Armenia, align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

Published on 22.01.2018 in the Official Journal of the European Union L 16 I/9

<sup>\*</sup>The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.