Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain countries with Council Decision concerning restrictive measures in view of the situation in Venezuela

On 11 November 2019, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2019/1893[1] concerning restrictive measures in view of the situation in Venezuela.

The Council has decided that the restrictive measures should be renewed for a further period of 12 months, until 14 November 2020. The Council also decided to amend the statement of reasons for eight persons listed in Annex I to Decision (CFSP) 2017/2074.

The Candidate Countries Republic of North Macedonia* and Albania*, and the EFTA countries Iceland and Liechtenstein, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova, Armenia and Georgia align themselves with this decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

[1] Published on 12.11.2019 in the Official Journal of the European Union L 291/42.

*Republic of North Macedonia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.