Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain countries with concerning restrictive measures in view of the situation in Venezuela

Press contacts

Maja Kocijančič

EEAS spokesperson +32 2 298 65 70 +32 498 98 44 25

On 25 June 2018 the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2018/901[1] amending Council Decision (CFSP) 2017/2074.

In view of the elections held on 20 May 2018, eleven persons are included in the list of natural and legal persons, entities and bodies subject to restrictive measures in Annex I to Decision (CFSP) 2017/2074.

The Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Montenegro* and Albania*, the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of Moldova and Georgia, align themselves with this declaration.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

[1] Published on 25.06.2018 in the Official Journal of the European Union L 160I, p.12.

*The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

Download as pdf