Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain countries concerning the list of persons, groups and entities subject to the application of specific measures to combat terrorism

On 13 January 2020, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2020/20[1].

The Council Decision updates the list of persons and entities involved in terrorist acts as laid down by EU Common Position 2001/931 of 27 December 2001.

The Candidate Countries Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania[2], the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA country Iceland, member of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and the Republic of Moldova align themselves with this decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

[1] Published on 14.01.2020 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 8I, p.5.

[2] The Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.