## Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain countries concerning restrictive measures in view of the situation in Venezuela



On 12 November 2020, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2020/1700<sup>[1]</sup>.

The Council has decided that the restrictive measures should be renewed for a further period of 12 months, until 14 November 2021. The Council also decided to amend the statement of reasons of fourteen persons listed in Annex I to Decision (CFSP) 2017/2074.

The Candidate Countries the Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania<sup>[2]</sup>, and the EFTA countries Iceland and Liechtenstein, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova and Georgia align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

Published on 13.11.2020 in the Official Journal of the European Union L 381/25.

The Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.