## Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain countries concerning restrictive measures in view of the situation in Belarus



On 4 June 2021, the Council adopted Council Decision (CFSP) 2021/908<sup>[1]</sup> amending Council Decision 2012/642/CFSP.

The Council Decision decided to strengthen the existing restrictive measures in view of the situation in Belarus by introducing a ban on the overflight of EU airspace and on access to EU airports by Belarusian carriers of all kinds.

The Candidate Countries the Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania<sup>[2]</sup>, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

 $<sup>^{\</sup>mbox{\tiny [1]}}$  Published on 04.06.2021 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. LI 197, p.3

The Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.