Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain countries concerning restrictive measures against the Republic of Guinea



On 23 October 2020, the Council adopted Decision 2020/1556[1].

The Council Decision extends the existing restrictive measures until 27 October 2021.

The Candidate Countries the Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania[2], the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and the Republic of Moldova align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

[1] Published on 26.10.2020 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 355, p. 3

[2] The Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.