<u>Declaration by the High Representative</u> <u>on behalf of the EU on the alignment</u> <u>of certain countries concerning</u> <u>restrictive measures against Syria</u>

Press contacts

<u>Maja Kocijančič</u> EEAS spokesperson +32 2 298 65 70 +32 498 98 44 25

On 28 May 2018, the Council adopted Council Decision (CFSP) 2018/778 [1] amending Council Decision (CFSP) 2013/255.

The Council Decision extends the existing restrictive measures until 1 June 2019.

The Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Montenegro*, Serbia* and Albania*, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of Moldova and Georgia, align themselves with this declaration.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

[1] Published on 29.5.2018 in the Official Journal of the European Union no.L 131, p. 16.

* The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

Download as pdf