Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain countries concerning restrictive measures against Iran



On 18 June 2020, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2020/849[1] amending Council Decision 2010/413/CFSP.

The Council Decision amends the list of persons and entities subject to restrictive measures as set out in Annex II to Decision 2010/413.

The Candidate Countries the Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania[2], the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of Moldova align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

[1] Published on 19.06.2020 in the Official Journal of the European Union n° . L 196, p. 8

[2] The Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.