Chief Executive appoints Harbourfront Commission members

The Government announced today (June 28) the Chief Executive's appointment of 26 members to serve on the Harbourfront Commission (HC) for a two-year term commencing on July 1, 2019.

Members who are reappointed include eight public officers, 12 organisation members and four individual members (i.e. Mr Hans Joachim Isler, Mr Karl Kwok Chi-leung, Ms Vivian Lee Ying-shih and Mr Tony Tse Wai-chuen). Two new members (i.e. Mr Mac Chan Ho-ting and Ms Angela So Wing-kwan) are also appointed.

The Secretary for Development, Mr Michael Wong, welcomed the appointments and re-appointments. He said that the two new members are young professionals who would bring new perspectives to the work of the HC. He also expressed gratitude to the two outgoing members, Mr Chan Ka-kui and Mr Walter Chan Kar-lok, for their invaluable contribution in promoting harbourfront development in the past six years.

"The HC has all along been the Government's close partner on harbourfront development and a strong advocate on harbourfront vitality and diversity. With the \$6 billion earmarked in the Budget this year, we are going to further extend the connected promenade. The Government and the HC will continue to work together to build an even more attractive, vibrant, accessible and sustainable harbourfront for Hong Kong," Mr Wong said.

The HC was established in July 2010 to advise the Government on harbourfront planning, design, management and other related matters with the objective of fostering and facilitating the development of the Victoria harbourfront.

Following is the membership of the HC commencing July 1, 2019:

Chairperson

Mr Vincent Ng Wing-shun

Vice-Chairperson

Secretary for Development

Non-official Members (Organisations)

Business Environment Council Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport in Hong Kong Friends of the Earth (HK) Charity Limited Hong Kong Institute of Architects Hong Kong Institute of Landscape Architects Hong Kong Institute of Planners
Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors
Hong Kong Institute of Urban Design
Hong Kong Institution of Engineers
Real Estate Developers Association of Hong Kong
Society for Protection of the Harbour
The Conservancy Association

Non-official Members (Individuals)

Mr Mac Chan Ho-ting

Ms Kelly Chan Yuen-sau

Mr Hans Joachim Isler

Mr Karl Kwok Chi-leung

Ms Janice Lai Wai-man

Ms Christina Maisenne Lee

Ms Vivian Lee Ying-shih

Mr Alan Lo Yeung-kit

Mr Ngan Man-yu

Ms Angela So Wing-kwan

Mr Tony Tse Wai-chuen

Official Members

Permanent Secretary for Development (Planning and Lands) or her representative
Commissioner for Tourism or his representative
Commissioner for Transport or her representative
Director of Civil Engineering and Development or his representative
Director of Leisure and Cultural Services or her representative
Director of Marine or her representative
Director of Planning or his representative

Secretary

Principal Assistant Secretary for Development (Harbour)