## <u>Chairperson and members of Curriculum</u> <u>Development Council appointed</u>

The Government today (August 25) announced the appointment of Professor Isabella Poon Wai-yin as the Chairperson of the Curriculum Development Council (CDC) in succession to Professor Tam Kar-yan, as well as the appointment of five new members and the reappointment of 15 incumbent members for a term of two years with effect from September 1, 2023.

The five newly appointed members are Mr Eugene Fong Yick-jin, Mr Li Kinman, Professor Johnny Poon Ming-lun, Ms Ting Wing-sze and Dr Wong Ching-yung. The 15 reappointed members are Ms Chan Mei-kuen, Mr Cheng Ka-ho, Professor Cheung Chak-chung, Professor Ching Wai-ki, Ms Hui Ha-mei, Mr Raymond Kwok Chin-kon, Mr Lee Wai-hung, Ms Lee Yi-ying, Ms Mandy Leung Man-yee, Professor Lo Ming-tung, Ms Ng Kai-kwan, Mr Shek Wai-keung, Professor Cindy Sit Huiping, Mr Paul Tai Lun and Dr Yip Chi-sio.

The Secretary for Education, Dr Choi Yuk-lin, welcomed the appointments. She said, "Professor Isabella Poon Wai-yin is currently Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education) and Wei Lun Professor of Statistics of the Chinese University of Hong Kong with vast experience in teaching, research and administration. Professor Poon has great enthusiasm for education. Her outstanding performance in and contribution to teaching have earned her plenty of accolades over the years. I am confident that, with Professor Poon's expertise and experience, the CDC will bring into play the 'Led by Professionals' principle under her leadership, and continue to offer constructive advice to the Government on a wide range of matters relating to school curriculum development, with a view to enabling the curriculum to keep up with the times and nurturing a wider pool of high-calibre talent to make contributions to Hong Kong, the country and the world."

Dr Choi expressed her heartfelt gratitude to the outgoing Chairperson, Professor Tam Kar-yan. She said, "Over the past six years, Professor Tam strived ahead with the Education Bureau (EDB) for addressing various key issues pertaining to curriculum development. Under his exemplary leadership, the CDC took forward the recommendations set out in the final report of the Task Force on Review of School Curriculum in an orderly manner for ongoing renewal and refinement of the school curriculum. Remarkable progress was made in promoting national education and national security education, values education and STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, the Arts and Mathematics) education, as well as optimising the senior secondary curriculum, etc, for the ultimate benefit of our students' learning and development. I would like to express my sincere appreciation to Professor Tam for his excellent chairmanship and enthusiasm."

Dr Choi also thanked the outgoing members, Ms Chan On-yan, Reverend Canon Peter Douglas Koon Ho-ming and Mr Wong Yu-leung, for their invaluable contributions to the curriculum development in Hong Kong during their tenure. The membership list of the CDC with effect from September 1, 2023, is as follows:

Chairperson Professor Isabella Poon Wai-yin Non-official Members Ms Chan Mei-kuen Mr Cheng Ka-ho Professor Cheung Chak-chung Professor Ching Wai-ki Mr Eugene Fong Yick-jin\* Ms Hui Ha-mei Mr Raymond Kwok Chin-kon Mr Lee Wai-hung Ms Lee Yi-ying Ms Mandy Leung Man-yee Mr Li Kin-man\* Professor Lo Ming-tung Ms Ng Kai-kwan Professor Johnny Poon Ming-lun\* Mr Shek Wai-keung Professor Cindy Sit Hui-ping Mr Paul Tai Lun Ms Ting Wing-sze\* Dr Wong Ching-yung \* Dr Yip Chi-sio

Ex-officio Members

Principal Assistant Secretary (Curriculum Development) of the EDB, also the Vice-chairperson of the CDC Chairperson of the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Council or his/her representative Representatives from other Divisions of the EDB

\*New members