<u>CE commends teachers for teaching</u> <u>excellence (with photos)</u>

The following is issued on behalf of the Chief Executive's Award for Teaching Excellence Steering Committee:

The Chief Executive, Mr John Lee, today (July 5) officiated, and presented the Award for Teaching Excellence to 10 teachers, at the Award Presentation Ceremony of the Chief Executive's Award for Teaching Excellence (CEATE) (2023/2024), while nine teachers received the Certificate of Merit from the Secretary for Education, Dr Choi Yuk-lin.

The Chairman of the CEATE Steering Committee, Dr Gordon Tsui, commended the outstanding performance of the awarded teachers, who not only catered to the learning characteristics of the students and helped them set clear learning goals, but also used diversified and innovative learning and teaching strategies to effectively support students in connecting knowledge to daily life and stimulate their learning interest. With this year marking the 20th anniversary of the Award Presentation Ceremony of CEATE, Dr Tsui encouraged all the awarded teachers to continue to innovate, work together to develop quality education for Hong Kong, and strive to nurture outstanding talent for the motherland and Hong Kong.

There were 102 nominations received from secondary schools, primary schools, kindergartens and special schools for the CEATE (2023/2024), covering themes of "English Language Education Key Learning Area (KLA)", "Personal, Social and Humanities Education KLA" and "Kindergarten Education". Assessment of nominations focused on teachers' performance in the four domains of "Professional Competence", "Student Development", "Professionalism and Commitment to the Community", and "School Development". After assessment, six nominations (comprising 10 teachers) were presented with the Award for Teaching Excellence while four nominations (comprising nine teachers) were presented with the Certificate of Merit. Please visit the CEATE website (www.ate.gov.hk) for the list of the awarded teachers.

Other officiating guests at today's ceremony included the Permanent Secretary for Education, Ms Michelle Li; the Chairman of the Committee on Professional Development of Teachers and Principals as well as the High-level Advisory Panel (2023/2024), Professor Alvin Leung; the Chairman of the Education Commission, Dr David Wong; the Chairman of the Curriculum Development Council, Professor Isabella Poon; the Chairman of the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority, Mr Samuel Yung; and the Chairman of the CEATE Assessment Working Group (2023/2024), Professor Lo Ming-tung.

Sharing activities involving the CEATE-awarded teachers are being rolled out gradually to disseminate excellent teaching practices. Details will be announced on the CEATE website and the EDB Training Calendar.

The themes of the CEATE (2024/2025) cover "Chinese Language Education"

KLA", "Mathematics Education KLA" and "Values Education", while the "Award for Budding Teachers" and the "Award for Education Innovation" will be newly introduced. Nominations will be accepted from July 8 to October 4. Related details will be uploaded to the CEATE website on July 8.

