<u>Candidate Eligibility Review Committee</u> <u>announces 107 registrations of ex-</u> <u>officio members of Election Committee</u> <u>valid</u>

The Candidate Eligibility Review Committee (CERC) published a notice in the Gazette today (September 29) to declare that 107 registrations of exofficio members of the Election Committee (EC) as valid.

In accordance with section 5J of the Schedule to the Chief Executive Election Ordinance (Cap. 569), a person holding a specified office under Part 2A of the Schedule may register as an ex-officio member of the EC. If the specified person is not eligible to be registered as an ex-officio member or is the holder of more than one specified office, he/she may designate another person who is holding an office in a relevant body in relation to the specified office to be registered as an ex-officio member.

The Registration and Electoral Office has received 107 registrations of ex-officio members. After review, the CERC determines that these 107 registrations are valid. The subsectors and specified offices involved are listed below:

Subsector	Specified Office
Architectural, surveying, planning and landscape	 The President of The Hong Kong Institute of Architects The President of The Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors
Education	 The President of the City University of Hong Kong The office specified by the Po Leung Kuk The office specified by the Tung Wah Group of Hospitals
Engineering	 The President of The Hong Kong Institution of Engineers The Chairman of the Advisory Council on the Environment The Chairman of the Advisory Committee on the Appearance of Bridges and Associated Structures

Social welfare	 The Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Tung Wah Group of Hospitals The Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Po Leung Kuk The Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Yan Chai Hospital The Chairman of the Board of Directors of Pok Oi Hospital The Chairperson of the Board of Directors of Yan Oi Tong Limited The Chairman of the Executive Committee of The Lok Sin Tong Benevolent Society Kowloon The Chairman of the Board of Directors of New Home Association Limited
Members of the Legislative Council	• Member of the Legislative Council
Hong Kong Special Administrative Region deputies to the National People's Congress and Hong Kong Special Administrative Region members of the National Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference	• Hong Kong Special Administrative Region deputies to the National People's Congress and Hong Kong Special Administrative Region members of the National Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference

The CERC is chaired by the Chief Secretary for Administration, Mr Chan Kwok-ki, with three official members (the Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs, Mr Erick Tsang Kwok-wai; the Secretary for Security, Mr Tang Ping-keung; and the Secretary for Home and Youth Affairs, Miss Alice Mak Mei-kuen) and three non-official members (Miss Elsie Leung Oi-sie, Mrs Rita Fan Hsu Lai-tai and Professor Lawrence Lau Juen-yee). In accordance with Annex I to the Basic Law, the CERC is responsible for reviewing and confirming the eligibility of candidates for the membership of the EC (including ex-officio members). The CERC decides whether such persons comply with the legal requirements and conditions of upholding the Basic Law of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) of the People's Republic of China (PRC) and bearing allegiance to the HKSAR of the PRC.