<u>Cabinet Secretary announces Arts</u> <u>Council appointments</u>

The terms of appointment for Ms Kate Eden, Dr Rachel O'Riordan and Mr Dafydd Rhys will commence on 1 April 2017 and will initially last for three years.

ACW Council members are responsible for setting the aims and objectives of the Arts Council, aligning these to the Welsh Government's strategic priorities and ensuring funding in Wales is invested effectively.

The three new members are in addition to the two members appointed from 1 November 2016 and complement the current membership of the Council. With the appointments the Council will now comprise 13 members plus the Chair, Dr Phil George.

The Cabinet Secretary said:

"I am pleased to announce the appointment of these three new Council members. These appointments have enormous personal and professional experience in the arts but come from completely different backgrounds.

"Their individual skills, knowledge and expertise will add significantly to the current strengths of the Council during a period of transition as it faces up to the challenges and opportunities ahead.

Phil George, Chair of ACW added

"I'm delighted to welcome three new members who will bring a wealth of skills and experience, as well as a passion for the arts, to our Council.

"They will be terrific advocates and ambassadors for the arts in Wales and I look forward to their contribution as we strive to ensure that all communities in Wales are able to benefit from and have access to high quality arts.

"We look forward to welcoming them as Council Members to our Council meeting in May."

Two long-serving current members — Dr Kate Woodward and Mrs Margaret Jervis — come to the end of their third and final terms of appointment on 31 March 2017.