Bus Safety Excellence Award Ceremony 2024 held today (with photos)

â€∢The Transport Department (TD) today (May 24) held the Bus Safety Excellence Award Ceremony 2024 at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre in Wan Chai to commend the dedication and diligence of the staff of the franchised bus companies who strive to enhance bus safety in their daily operations.

Speaking at the award ceremony, the Permanent Secretary for Transport and Logistics, Ms Mable Chan, expressed appreciation for the dedication of these unsung heroes of the franchised bus companies — bus captains, driving instructors, inspectors, regulators, depot engineers and mechanics — who spare no effort every day to ensure efficient bus services and safe journeys for millions of passengers. She further encouraged all the staff of the bus companies to continue their concerted effort to enhance bus safety.

A total of 58 employees received the Bus Safety Excellence Award in four categories, comprising 28 bus captains, six driving instructors, 12 inspectors/regulators and 12 awardees from four teams of engineers/mechanics. Each franchised bus company recommended the awardees to the TD based on their safety record performances throughout the past year. These performances need to meet the criteria set by the TD, such as no driving accidents and no driving offence records maintained by the bus captains, the provision of clear and understandable safety trainings by the driving instructors to their bus captains, and the efficient management of daily operations by the inspectors/regulators, as well as the use of creativity and technology by the teams of engineers/mechanics to enhance bus safety.

The TD and the franchised bus companies have been strengthening bus captains' training and crisis awareness. Bus captains are regularly reminded of the importance of careful and attentive driving at all times. In addition to the co-operation of bus passengers and other road users, safe and reliable bus services also depend on the efforts and contributions of the franchised bus companies' dedicated and professional staff.

Other officiating guests at the award ceremony included the Commissioner for Transport, Ms Angela Lee; the Chairman of the Transport Advisory Committee, Professor Stephen Cheung; the Chairman of the Legislative Council Panel on Transport, Mr Chan Han-pan; Member of the Legislative Council for the Transport Functional Constituency, Mr Frankie Yick; and the Chief Superintendent of Police (Traffic) of the Hong Kong Police Force, Mr Chan Siu-ming.

The list of awardees is provided in the Annex.







