<u>Article - Infographic: find out more about the new European Commission</u>



The new team of European commissioners, <u>elected by the European Parliament on 27 November</u>, includes 12 women, which is more than the nine Jean-Claude Juncker's Commission had at its start in 2014. For the first time ever, the Commission President is also a woman: Ursula von der Leyen got <u>Parliament's</u>

approval for the post in July.

Most commissioners have served as ministers in their national governments in the past, while nine of Ursula von der Leyen's team have been MEPs.

The youngest new commissioner is 29-year-old Lithuanian Virginijus Sinkevičius, while the oldest is former European Parliament president Josep Borrell at 72.

The Parliament organised <u>hearings with all commissioners-designate</u> so that MEPs could assess their suitability and ensure that they have the capacity and vision to act in the interests of Europeans.