Appointments to Women's Commission

The Government today (January 11) announced the appointment of four new members and the re-appointment of seven incumbent members to the Women's Commission (WoC) for a term of two years with effect from January 15, 2019.

The four new members are Ms Mary Huen Wai-yi, Ms Melissa Kaye Pang, Ms Rigam Rai and Mr Walter Tsui Yu-hang.

Ms Mary Huen Wai-yi is the Chief Executive Officer of Standard Chartered Bank (Hong Kong) Limited. She is also a panel member of the Antiâ€@Money Laundering and Counterâ€@Terrorist Financing Review Tribunal.

Ms Melissa Kaye Pang is the first female President of the Law Society of Hong Kong. She is also the Chairperson of the Committee on the Promotion of Civic Education.

Ms Rigam Rai is the first Nepalese lawyer in Hong Kong. She is also a member of the Committee on the Promotion of Racial Harmony.

Mr Walter Tsui Yu-hang is a founder of CareER, a non-profit-making organisation. He is also a member of the Rehabilitation Advisory Committee.

The seven re-appointed incumbent members are Professor Cecilia Chan Laiwan, Ms Susanna Chiu Lai-kuen, Mrs Emily Tim-yi Lam Ho, Dr Kevin Lau Chunghang, Ms Elaine Lo Yuen-man, Ms Wong Siu-wah and Ms Yvonne Yeung Kin-ha.

The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Dr Law Chi-kwong, welcomed the appointments and re-appointments. He said, "Coming from a diverse background, the newly appointed and re-appointed members have rich experience in their professions and community services. I look forward to their giving valuable advice on the work of the WoC."

Dr Law also thanked the four outgoing members, Ms Aruna Gurung, Ms Juan Leung Chung-yan, Mr Philip Tsai Wing-chung and Ms Rabi Yim Chor-pik, for their active participation in and valuable contribution to the work of the WoC in the past years.

The WoC was set up on January 15, 2001, as a central mechanism to promote the well-being and interests of women in Hong Kong. It plays a strategic role in advising the Government on policies and initiatives on women's issues.

Following is the membership list of the WoC with effect from January 15, 2019:

Non-official members

Ms Chan Yuen-han (Chairperson) Professor Cecilia Chan Lai-wan Ms Susanna Chiu Lai-kuen Ms Mary Huen Wai-yi Professor Shirley Hung Suet-lin Ms Angelina Kwan Mrs Emily Tim-yi Lam Ho Dr Kevin Lau Chung-hang Ms Melaine Lee Kam-ha Ms Elaine Lo Yuen-man Ms Yolanda Ng Yuen-ting Ms Melissa Kaye Pang Ms Scarlett Pong Oi-lan Ms Rigam Rai Dr Loletta So Kit-ying Ms Michelle Tang Ming-sum Miss Sherry Tsai Hiu-wai Mr Walter Tsui Yu-hang Ms Wong Siu-wah Mrs Viola Wong Ho Suk-ying Ms Yvonne Yeung Kin-ha

Ex-officio members

Permanent Secretary for Labour and Welfare or representative (Vice-Chairperson)

Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs or representative Director of Social Welfare or representative