Appointments to Women's Commission

The Government announced today (January 8) the re-appointment of eight non-official members, as well as the appointment of four new members, namely Ms Lam Wai-ling, Mrs Katherine Ngan Ng Yu-ying, Ms Cindy Pun Siu-fung and Professor Sham Mai-har, to the Women's Commission (WoC). Their two-year term will take effect on January 15, 2021.

The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Dr Law Chi-kwong said, "Since its establishment in 2001, the WoC has spared no effort in promoting the wellbeing and interests of women in Hong Kong and advising the Government on policies and initiatives on women's issues."

Dr Law added, "The re-appointed and newly appointed members come from diverse backgrounds and have rich experience in their professions and community services. I hope that they will give valuable advice on the work of the WoC. In the new term of the WoC, 85.7 per cent of non-official members are female."

Dr Law also thanked the outgoing members, Professor Cecilia Chan Laiwan, Ms Yolanda Ng Yuen-ting, Ms Wong Siu-wah and Ms Yvonne Yeung Kin-ha, for their contribution to the WoC.

The membership of the WoC for the new term is as follows:

Non-official members

Ms Chan Yuen-han (Chairperson) Ms Susanna Chiu Lai-kuen Ms Mary Huen Wai-yi Ms Lam Wai-ling Mrs Emily Tim-yi Lam Ho Dr Kevin Lau Chung-hang Ms Melaine Lee Kam-ha Ms Elaine Lo Yuen-man Professor Lui Yu-hon Ms Winnie Ng Wing-mui Mrs Katherine Ngan Ng Yu-ying Ms Melissa Kaye Pang Ms Scarlett Pong Oi-lan Ms Cindy Pun Siu-fung Ms Rigam Rai Professor Sham Mai-har Dr Loletta So Kit-ying Miss Sherry Tsai Hiu-wai Mr Walter Tsui Yu-hang Mrs Viola Wong Ho Suk-ying Dr Kitty Wu Kit-ying

Ex-officio members

Permanent Secretary for Labour and Welfare or representative (Vice-Chairperson) Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs or representative Director of Social Welfare or representative