Appointments to Women's Commission

The Government today (January 10) announced the appointment of three new members and the re-appointment of the Chairperson and five incumbent members to the Women's Commission (WoC) for a term of two years with effect from January 15, 2020.

Ms Chan Yuen-han has been re-appointed as the Chairperson of the WoC. Ms Chan served the WoC as a member before taking up the chairmanship from January 2018. Under her leadership, the WoC has continued its dedicated efforts in advancing the development of women in Hong Kong and maintained close ties with women's groups and concerned stakeholders in promoting the well-being and interests of women in Hong Kong.

The three new members are Professor Lui Yu-hon, Ms Winnie Ng Wing-mui and Dr Kitty Wu Kit-ying.

Professor Lui Yu-hon is the President of Tung Wah College. He is also a member of the Human Resources Planning Commission.

Ms Winnie Ng Wing-mui is a Director of the Kowloon Motor Bus Company (1933) Limited. She is also a member of the Town Planning Board.

Dr Kitty Wu Kit-ying is a clinical psychologist.

The five re-appointed incumbent members are Ms Melaine Lee Kam-ha, Ms Scarlett Pong Oi-lan, Dr Loletta So Kit-ying, Miss Sherry Tsai Hiu-wai and Mrs Viola Wong Ho Suk-ying.

The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Dr Law Chi-kwong, welcomed the appointments and re-appointments. He said, "Coming from a diverse background, the newly appointed and re-appointed members have rich experience in their professions and community services. I hope that they will give valuable advice on the work of the WoC."

Dr Law also thanked the three outgoing members, Professor Shirley Hung Suet-lin, Ms Angelina Kwan and Ms Michelle Tang Ming-sum, for their participation in and valuable contribution to the work of the WoC in the past years.

The WoC was set up on January 15, 2001, as a central mechanism to promote the well-being and interests of women in Hong Kong. It plays a strategic role in advising the Government on policies and initiatives on women's issues.

Following is the membership list of the WoC with effect from January 15, 2020:

Non-official members

Ms Chan Yuen-han (Chairperson) Professor Cecilia Chan Lai-wan Ms Susanna Chiu Lai-kuen Ms Mary Huen Wai-yi Mrs Emily Tim-yi Lam Ho Dr Kevin Lau Chung-hang Ms Melaine Lee Kam-ha Ms Elaine Lo Yuen-man Professor Lui Yu-hon Ms Winnie Ng Wing-mui Ms Yolanda Ng Yuen-ting Ms Melissa Kaye Pang Ms Scarlett Pong Oi-lan Ms Rigam Rai Dr Loletta So Kit-ying Miss Sherry Tsai Hiu-wai Mr Walter Tsui Yu-hang Ms Wong Siu-wah Mrs Viola Wong Ho Suk-ying Dr Kitty Wu Kit-ying Ms Yvonne Yeung Kin-ha

Ex-officio members

Permanent Secretary for Labour and Welfare or representative (Vice-Chairperson)

Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs or representative Director of Social Welfare or representative