## <u>Appointments to Veterinary Surgeons</u> <u>Board of Hong Kong</u>

The Government announced today (September 14) the appointment of two new members and the re-appointment of six incumbent members to the Veterinary Surgeons Board of Hong Kong (VSB) from September 15, 2018, until such time as the newly constituted VSB with elected members is established.

The two new members are Dr Katriona Christine Ferguson Bradley and Dr Henry Yeung Chiu-fat.

Dr Bradley is an experienced veterinary practitioner in private practice. Dr Yeung is a medical doctor in private practice.

The Secretary for Food and Health, Professor Sophia Chan, welcomed the new members and those re-appointed to the VSB. She said she looked forward to their contribution to the work of the VSB in upholding the professional standards of veterinary surgeons in Hong Kong.

Professor Chan also thanked the two outgoing members, Dr Gabriel Choi Kin and Dr Diane Lu Dah-an, for their dedicated service and valuable contribution to the VSB over the years.

Enacted in 1997, the Veterinary Surgeons Registration Ordinance (Cap 529) provides for the establishment of the VSB, which is responsible for the regulation of the practice of veterinary surgery, the registration of veterinary surgeons, and the disciplinary control of the professional activities of registered veterinary surgeons in Hong Kong.

The Ordinance has been amended by the Veterinary Surgeons Registration (Amendment) Ordinance 2015, passed by the Legislative Council (LegCo) on March 18, 2015. Among other proposals, the membership of the VSB will increase from 10 persons to 19. Six of the seats are to be filled by registered veterinary surgeons elected by members of the profession. The Government is working on subsidiary legislation governing the election of registered veterinary surgeons to the VSB. Subject to passage of the proposed subsidiary legislation through the LegCo, the election is expected to take place in 2019. As and when the elected members are in place to join the VSB, the Government will bring the amendment ordinance into full operation. That future date is also expected to be the time at which the newly constituted VSB will come into operation.

Following is the membership list of the VSB as from September 15, 2018:

Chairman Professor Ching Pak-chung

Members Mr Au Pak-ching Dr Katriona Christine Ferguson Bradley Dr Olivia Chan Sinn-kay Dr Tint Naing Mr Timothy Ng Sau-kin Dr Brian David Stewart Dr Florence Tang Mei-kuen Dr Henry Yeung Chiu-fat Dr Michelle Yeung Lee