## <u>Appointments to Urban Forestry</u> <u>Advisory Panel</u>

The Development Bureau (DEVB) announced today (January 3) that 16 non-official members have been appointed to the Urban Forestry Advisory Panel (UFAP) for a term of two years from January 1, 2019.

The new non-official members are Professor Leslie Chen Hung-chi and Dr Wang Xiaoming. The re-appointed non-official members are Dr Paul Barber, Mr Chan Yun-cheung, Professor Chau Kwai-cheong, Ms Cecilia Cheung So-mui, Mr Kingsley Choi Lim-cho, Mr Mark Duntemann, Mr Kevin Eckert, Dr Billy Hau Chihang, Mr Evans Iu Po-lung, Mr Patrick Lau Hing-tat, Dr David Lau Tai-wai, Mr Frank Rinn, Mr Ian Shears and Dr Wong Fook-yee.

A spokesman for the DEVB said, "The UFAP comprises both local and overseas experts from different fields including urban forestry managers, horticulturalists, arborists, landscape architects and botanists, and will provide advice on urban forestry polices and initiatives from multiple perspectives."

The spokesman also expressed gratitude to Dr Philip Cannon, Professor Cecil Konijnedijk, Professor Xing Fuwu and Professor Zhang Qixiang, the four outgoing non-official members of the UFAP.

Appointed by the Secretary for Development, members of the UFAP advise the DEVB on urban forest management strategies, an applied research and development regime, and positive capacity building initiatives for the arboriculture and horticulture industry.

The membership of the new term of the UFAP is set out below:

## Chairman

Head of Greening, Landscape and Tree Management Section, DEVB

## Non-official members

Dr Paul Barber

Mr Chan Yun-cheung

Professor Chau Kwai-cheong

\* Professor Leslie Chen Hung-chi

Ms Cecilia Cheung So-mui

Mr Kingslev Choi Lim-cho

Mr Mark Duntemann

Mr Kevin Eckert

Dr Billy Hau Chi-hang

Mr Evans Iu Po-lung

Mr Patrick Lau Hing-tat

Dr David Lau Tai-wai Mr Frank Rinn Mr Ian Shears \* Dr Wang Xiaoming Dr Wong Fook-yee

## Official members

Head of Tree Management Office, DEVB
Representative of Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Representative of Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department
Representative of Highways Department
\* Representative of Housing Department

(\* New non-official and official members)