Appointments to URA Board

The Government today (April 29) announced that the Chief Executive has, pursuant to section 4 of the Urban Renewal Authority Ordinance, re-appointed Mr Chow Chung-kong as Chairman of the Urban Renewal Authority (URA) Board, and also re-appointed/appointed 16 non-executive directors of the URA Board, including four official non-executive directors, for a term of three years with effect from May 1, 2022.

The four newly appointed non-official non-executive directors are Mr Chan Ka-kui, Ms Janice Lai Wai-man, Mrs Sylvia Lam Yu Ka-wai and Ms Yvonne Yeung Kin-ha. The eight re-appointed non-official non-executive directors are Mr Vincent Cheng Wing-shun, Ms Ivy Chua Suk-lin, Mr Ho Wing-cheong, Dr Lee Ho-yin, Ms Elaine Lo Yuen-man, Professor Tang Bo-sin, Ms Judy Tong Keiyuk and Dr Wong Yuen-shan.

The Secretary for Development, Mr Michael Wong, welcomed the reappointment of Mr Chow as Chairman of the URA Board. "I am grateful to Mr Chow Chung-kong for continuing to lead the URA. With his rich experience and leadership, I am confident that the URA will continue to take forward urban renewal with innovation and vision," he said.

"The newly appointed non-official non-executive directors come from different sectors of the community. I am sure their expertise and extensive experience in their respective fields will help contribute and provide invaluable insights to the work of the URA," he added.

Mr Wong also expressed gratitude to the four retiring non-official non-executive directors, namely Ms Judy Chan Ka-pui, Mr Roger Luk Koon-hoo, Mrs Cecilia Wong Ng Kit-wah and Mr Michael Wong Yick-kam, for their invaluable contributions to the URA.

The new URA Board will comprise 17 non-official non-executive directors (including the Chairman), four official non-executive directors and three executive directors. All the non-official non-executive directors are appointed in their personal capacity. The membership list was gazetted today.

The membership of the URA Board is set out below:

Chairman

Mr Chow Chung-kong

Non-Executive Directors (Non-official)

Mr Evan Au Yang Chi-chun

Mr William Chan Fu-keung

Mr Chan Ka-kui

Mr Vincent Cheng Wing-shun

Ms Ivy Chua Suk-lin
Mr Ho Wing-cheong
Mr Kwok Wai-keung
Ms Janice Lai Wai-man
Mrs Sylvia Lam Yu Ka-wai
Dr Lee Ho-yin
Ms Elaine Lo Yuen-man
Professor Tang Bo-sin
Ms Judy Tong Kei-yuk
Mr Tony Tse Wai-chuen
Dr Wong Yuen-shan
Ms Yvonne Yeung Kin-ha

Non-Executive Directors (Official)

Director of Buildings Director of Lands Director of Planning Deputy Director of Home Affairs (2)

Executive Directors

Managing Director / Deputy Chairman Two Executive Directors