<u>Appointments to Statistics Advisory</u> Board

The Government announced today (May 30) that the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury has appointed members to the Statistics Advisory Board (SAB) for a new term of two years from June 1, 2018, to May 31, 2020.

The SAB of the new term includes 12 non-official members, seven of whom are serving members and five newly appointed members. The five new members are Mr Victor Chan Kok-wai (Hotel Industry), Mr Samuel Lau Kin-pui (Logistics Industry), Ms Michelle Leung Oi-pui (Electronic Commerce Industry), Dr Vivian Lou Wei-qun (Academia) and Mr Gavin Poon Ka-ming (Life Science and Technology Sector).

The Commissioner for Census and Statistics, Mr Leslie Tang, said, "Members of the SAB are established professionals from different disciplines. Their diverse backgrounds will provide the Census and Statistics Department with invaluable insights and help ensure that its statistical work will continue to meet the evolving needs of our community."

Mr Tang added, "We are grateful to the four outgoing members, Ms Christina Law Sau-mui, Mr Anthony Leung Ming-tim, Mr Patrick Ting Siu-yin and Mr Jason Wong Chun-tat, for their unfailing support and wise counsel to the SAB that has helped foster the development of the Government's statistical work over the past years."

The SAB is an advisory body established in 1972 to advise the Commissioner for Census and Statistics on matters pertaining to official statistical work. Its membership consists of professionals from the business sector, the academia and the community, which provides for a wide representation to assist the Commissioner in integrating views of data users, data suppliers and statisticians.

Following is the membership of the SAB for the new term from June 1, 2018, to May 31, 2020:

Chairman (Ex officio)
Commissioner for Census and Statistics

Official members
Director of Planning (or representative)
Government Economist (or representative)
Representative from the Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau

Non-official members Ms Clara Lau Wai-ping Professor Leung Siu-fai Professor Tsui Kwok-leung Mr Augustine Wong Ho-ming
Ms Karen Chan Ka-yin
Mrs Cheung Ang Siew-mei
Ms Nicole Yuen Shuk-kam
Mr Victor Chan Kok-wai *
Mr Samuel Lau Kin-pui *
Ms Michelle Leung Oi-pui *
Dr Vivian Lou Wei-qun *
Mr Gavin Poon Ka-ming *

* Newly appointed