<u>Appointments to Statistics Advisory</u> Board

The Government announced today (May 28) that the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury has appointed members to the Statistics Advisory Board (SAB) for a new term of two years from June 1, 2024, to May 31, 2026.

The SAB of the new term includes 13 non-official members, eight of whom are serving members and five newly appointed members. The new members are Ms Suki Cheung Shuk-ming, Professor Fong Yuk-fai, Miss Rosalind Lee, Mr Jaymond Tang Sheung-ho and Ms Zhao Jiayin.

The Commissioner for Census and Statistics, Mr Leo Yu, said, "Members of the SAB are professionals from different disciplines. Their diverse background and expertise will provide the Census and Statistics Department with invaluable insights and help ensure that its statistical work will continue to meet the evolving needs of our community."

Mr Yu added, "We are grateful to the four outgoing members, Mr Samuel Lau Kin-pui, Ms Michelle Leung Oi-pui, Professor Vivian Lou Wei-qun and Professor Shen Haipeng for their unfailing support and wise counsel to the SAB that has helped foster the development of the Government's statistical work."

The SAB is an advisory body established in 1972 to advise the Commissioner for Census and Statistics on matters pertaining to official statistical work. Its membership consists of professionals from the business sector, the academia and the community, providing a wide representation to assist the Commissioner in integrating views of data users, data suppliers and statisticians.

Following is the membership of the SAB for the new term from June 1, 2024, to May 31, 2026:

Chairperson (Ex officio)

Commissioner for Census and Statistics

Official members

Director of Planning (or representative) Government Economist (or representative) Representative from the Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau

Non-official members

Ms Suki Cheung Shuk-ming Professor Fong Yuk-fai Ms Alice Lau Oi-sze Miss Rosalind Lee*
Mr Patrick Leung Chin-pak
Ms Janet Li Tze-yan
Mr Michael Ngai To-nam
Professor Isabella Poon Wai-yin
Mr Jaymond Tang Sheung-ho*
Mr Stan Tang Yiu-sing
Mr Ivan Ting Tien-li
Mr Daniel Wong Wai-hung
Ms Zhao Jiayin

^{*} Appointed under the Member Self-recommendation Scheme for Youth