## <u>Appointments to Standing Committee on Company Law Reform</u>

The Government announced today (January 24) that the Financial Secretary has reappointed Mr Johnny Mok Shiu-luen, SC, as the Chairman of the Standing Committee on Company Law Reform (SCCLR), as well as Ms Ivy Cheung Wing-han, Mr Dennis Ho Chiu-ping, Mr Geoffrey Edward Kao, and Mr David John Simmonds as members. At the same time, Dr Stefan Lo Huoy-cheng, Ms Flora Wang Fang and Mr Yeo Boon-ann are appointed as new members. All appointments will be effective from February 1, 2025, to January 31, 2027, for a term of two years.

A spokesman for the Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau said, "With the professional knowledge of its members, the SCCLR has provided valuable advice on continuously enhancing our company law, thereby strengthening Hong Kong's status as an international commercial and financial centre. We would like to express gratitude to the outgoing members, Ms Christine Chung Wai-yin, Mr Low Chee-keong and Ms Jacqueline Walsh, for their contribution to the SCCLR."

The SCCLR was set up in 1984. It advises the Financial Secretary on amendments to the Companies Ordinance and the Companies (Winding Up and Miscellaneous Provisions) Ordinance, as well as amendments to the Securities and Futures Ordinance on matters relating to corporate governance and shareholders' protection, as and when necessary.

As from February 1, 2025, the membership list of the SCCLR will be as follows:

Mr Johnny Mok Shiu-luen, SC (Chairman)

Mr Jack Chan Hoi

Ms Ivy Cheung Wing-han

Mr Paul Chow Koon-ying

Ms Julianne Pearl Doe

Mr Dennis Ho Chiu-ping

Ms Sabrina Ho Shuk-ying

Ms Wendy Kam Mei-ha

Mr Geoffrey Edward Kao

Mr Jason Karas

Mr Ernest Lee Chun-ho

Dr Stefan Lo Huoy-cheng

Mr David John Simmonds

Ms Flora Wang Fang

Ms Tiffany Wong Wing-sze

Mr Yeo Boon-ann

Ex-officio members

Head of Listing Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited

Ms Karen Deborah Kemp General Counsel Hong Kong Monetary Authority

Ms Annabel Lee Tung-mei Deputy Chief Counsel, Legal Services Division Securities and Futures Commission

Registrar of Companies

Official Receiver

Deputy Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Financial Services) Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau

Assistant Law Officer (Civil Law)
Department of Justice