<u>Appointments to Standing Committee on Company Law Reform</u>

The Financial Secretary has appointed five new members, Mr Paul Chow, Ms Tiffany Wong, Ms Rachel Lam Yan-kay, SC, Mr Jason Karas and Ms Julianne Pearl Doe to the Standing Committee on Company Law Reform (SCCLR). Four incumbent members, namely Mr Robert Lee Wai-wang, Mr Albert Ng, Mrs Natalia Seng Sze Ka-mee and Ms Cynthia Tang Yuen-shun, have been re-appointed.

The appointments and re-appointments are for a term of two years starting from February 1, 2020.

A government spokesman said today (January 31), "With the professional background and expertise of its members, the SCCLR has provided valuable advice on the improvement of our company law to be commensurate with Hong Kong's status as an international commercial and financial centre.

"We are grateful to the outgoing members, Mr David Kidd, Dr Lewis Luk, Ms Linda Chan, SC and Mr David Fu, for their valuable contributions to the SCCLR over the past few years," the spokesman added.

The SCCLR was set up in 1984. It advises the Financial Secretary on amendments to the Companies Ordinance and the Companies (Winding Up and Miscellaneous Provisions) Ordinance, as well as amendments to the Securities and Futures Ordinance on matters relating to corporate governance and shareholders' protection, as and when necessary.

As from February 1, 2020, the membership list of the SCCLR will be as follows:

Mr John Scott, SC (Chairman)

Mr Bruno Arboit

Mr Clement Chan Kam-wing

Mr Paul Chow

Ms Christine Chung Wai-yin

Ms Julianne Pearl Doe

Mr Jason Karas

Ms Rachel Lam Yan-kay, SC

Mr Robert Lee Wai-wang

Professor Low Chee-keong

Ms Gillian Meller

Mr Albert Ng

Mr Keith Pogson

Mrs Natalia Seng Sze Ka-mee

Ms Cynthia Tang Yuen-shun

Mr Bernie Ting Wai-cheung

Ms Tiffany Wong

Ex-officio Members

Ms Bonnie Chan Yiting Head of Listing Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited

Mr Stefan Gannon Commissioner, Resolution Office Hong Kong Monetary Authority

Ms Annabel Lee Tung-mei Deputy Chief Counsel, Legal Services Division Securities and Futures Commission

Ms Ada Chung Lai-ling Registrar of Companies

Ms Phyllis McKenna Official Receiver

Mr Sam Hui Chark-shum Deputy Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Financial Services) Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau

Dr Stefan Lo Huoy-cheng Senior Assistant Law Officer (Civil Law) Department of Justice