<u>Appointments to Social Welfare</u> <u>Advisory Committee announced</u>

The Government today (November 20) announced the re-appointment of the Chairman and 11 incumbent members to the Social Welfare Advisory Committee (SWAC) for a term of two years with effect from December 1.

Mr Lester Garson Huang is re-appointed as the Chairman of the SWAC. He is a lawyer, and the Chairman of the Council of the City University of Hong Kong and the Chairman of the Standing Committee on Language Education and Research. He has been serving as the Chairman of the SWAC since December 1, 2018, to date.

The 11 re-appointed incumbent members are Dr Bai Xue, Ms Sylvia Chan May-kuen, Dr Gary Cheng Faat-ting, Miss Cheung Sze-wing, Mr Manohar Thakurdas Chugh, Mr Andy Ho Wing-cheong, Mr Anthony Kwan Wai-ming, Dr Lam James Joseph, Ms Eva Wong Ching-hung, Mr Anthony Wong Kin-wai and Ms Amarantha Yip Yun-wan.

The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Dr Law Chi-kwong, welcomed the above appointments and looked forward to members' continued valuable contributions to the SWAC.

The SWAC advises the Government on social welfare policy and from time to time assists the Government in reviewing relevant services.

The membership list of the SWAC with effect from December 1, 2020, is as follows:

Chairman

Mr Lester Garson Huang

Non-official members

Dr Bai Xue

Ms Sylvia Chan May-kuen

Dr Gary Cheng Faat-ting

Miss Cheung Sze-wing

Mr Manohar Thakurdas Chugh

Mr Andy Ho Wing-cheong

Mr Anthony Kwan Wai-ming

Mr Frederick Lai Wing-hoi

Dr Lam James Joseph

Mr Armstrong Lee Hon-cheung

Ms Anthea Lo Wing-sze

Dr Gary Ng Ka-wing

Professor Petrus Ng Yat-nam

Dr Pan Pey-chyou

Ms Cindy Pun Siu-fung

Dr Ricky Szeto Wing-fu Dr Janice Tsang Wing-hang Ms Eva Wong Ching-hung Professor Frances Wong Kam-yuet Mr Anthony Wong Kin-wai Ms Amarantha Yip Yun-wan