## <u>Appointments to Social Welfare</u> <u>Advisory Committee</u>

The Government announced today (November 22) the appointment of Dr Ko Wing-man as the Chairman of the Social Welfare Advisory Committee (SWAC); the appointment of seven new members, namely Miss Chow Tsz-ki, Ms Hsu Siu-man, Professor Patrick Ip, Dr Sanly Kam Shau-wan, Dr Chloe Suen Yin-wah, Miss Sze Lai-shan, and Professor Hector Tsang Wing-hong; as well as the reappointment of five incumbent members to SWAC. Their appointments will take effect on December 1 for a term of two years.

The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Mr Chris Sun, welcomed the appointments. He said, "Dr Ko has rich experience in community service and I am confident that he will be able to lead SWAC in providing valuable advice to the Government. I look forward to the members' sterling advice on the development of Hong Kong's social welfare policy."

He also thanked the outgoing Chairman, Mr Lester Garson Huang, for his outstanding leadership during the past six years and the five outgoing members, Professor Bai Xue, Dr Cheung Sze-wing, Mr Andy Ho Wing-cheong, Dr Lam James Joseph and Ms Eva Wong Ching-hung, for their invaluable contributions to SWAC.

SWAC reviews social welfare services from time to time and advises the Government on matters of social welfare policy.

The membership list of SWAC with effect from December 1, 2024, is as follows:

Chairman

Dr Ko Wing-man

Non-official members

Miss Chow Tsz-ki

Ms Hsu Siu-man
Professor Patrick Ip
Dr Sanly Kam Shau-wan
Mr Frederick Lai Wing-hoi
Ms Alice Lau Oi-sze
Ms Anthea Lee Shuk-wai
Dr Wingco Lo Kam-wing
Professor Petrus Ng Yat-nam

Mr Francis Ngai Wah-sing

Dr Pan Pey-chyou

Dr Chloe Suen Yin-wah

Miss Sze Lai-shan

Dr Ricky Szeto Wing-fu

Ms Rebecca Tsai Ching-yu
Professor Hector Tsang Wing-hong
Dr Rizwan Ullah
Mr John Wong Chung
Professor Frances Wong Kam-yuet
Mr Barry Wong Man-sing
Ms Wendy Yuen Miu-ling