<u>Appointments to Snowdonia and Brecon</u> Beacons National Park Authorities

The newly appointed members are:

- Sue Holden, Christopher Coppock and Grenville Ham appointed to the Brecon Beacons National Park Authority from 23 August 2018 to 31 May 2022
- Elinor Gwynn and Neil Martinson appointed to the Snowdonia National Park Authority from 1 July 2018 to 31 May 2022

The Minister has also confirmed the re-appointment of three members:

- Ceri Stradling re-appointed to the Snowdonia National Park Authority from 1 February 2018 to 31 May 2022
- Gwyneth Hayward re-appointed to the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Authority from 1 February 2018 to 31 May 2019
- Ted Sangster re-appointed to the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Authority from 1 April 2018 to 31 May 2019

Members of the National Park Authorities are paid £3,625.00 per annum reflecting a time commitment of 4 days per month.

These appointments have been made in accordance with the Governance Code on Public Appointments.

Hannah Blythyn said:

"Our National Parks are very special to the people of Wales and the thousands of people who visit them each year.

The five new appointments will bring a wealth of experience and expertise to the management of our National Park Authorities. I look forward to the members' continued contribution in their effective stewardship."

The National Park Authorities were established under the provision of the Environment Act 1995. The National Park Authorities have two statutory purposes under the Environment Act 1995:

- To conserve and enhance the natural beauty, wildlife and cultural heritage of the National Parks.
- To promote opportunities for the understanding and enjoyment of the special qualities [of the Park] by the public.

As well as seeking to fulfil their two statutory purposes the National Park Authorities have a duty to foster the economic and social well being of their local communities.

The National Park Authorities (Wales) Order 1995 states responsibility for appointing the board of the National Park Authorities is shared between the constituent Local Authorities and the Welsh Ministers. Schedule 2 of the Order states that:

- The Board of the Brecon Beacons National Park Authority must be 24 members in total, with the number of Members appointed by Local Authorities being 16 and the number appointed by Welsh Ministers being 8.
- The Board of the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Authority must be 18 Members in total with the number of Members appointed by Local Authorities being 12 and the number appointed by Welsh Ministers being 6.
- The Board of the Snowdonia National Park Authority must be 18 Members in total with the number of Members appointed by Local Authorities being 12 and the number appointed by Welsh Ministers being 6.

All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for the political activity of appointees (if any declared) to be published.

Sue Holden has declared she has not undertaken any political activity in the past five years. She does not currently hold any other Ministerial Appointments.

Christopher Coppock has declared he has not undertaken any political activity in the past five years. He does not currently hold any other Ministerial Appointments.

Grenville Ham has declared that he was a candidate for the Green Party for the 2016 Welsh Assembly elections and 2017 General Election and held the position as Wales Green Party Spokesperson. He is an elected Town Councillor in Brecon. He does not currently hold any other Ministerial Appointments.

Elinor Gwynn has declared she has not undertaken any political activity in the past five years. She does not currently hold any other Ministerial Appointments.

Neil Martinson has declared that he has canvassed on behalf of the Labour Party or helped at elections during the past five years. He does not currently hold any other Ministerial Appointments.

Ceri Stradling has declared he has not undertaken any political activity in the past five years. He currently holds two other Ministerial Appointments — he is the Deputy Chair of the Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales, and an independent member of the Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board.

Gwyneth Hayward has declared she has not undertaken any political activity in the past five years. She does not currently hold any other Ministerial Appointments.

Ted Sangster has declared he has not undertaken any political activity in the past five years. He currently holds another Ministerial Appointment — he is a member of the Haven Waterway Enterprise Zone Advisory Board.