<u>Appointments to Small and Medium</u> <u>Enterprises Committee</u>

The Government today (December 28) announced appointments to the new term of the Small and Medium Enterprises Committee (SMEC) for the period from January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2020.

The new term of the SMEC comprises 24 members, with Mr Michael Hui Wah-kit as the Chairman. Other non-official members mainly include businessmen, professionals and small and medium enterprise (SME) players.

The Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Edward Yau, thanked the new Chairman and members for accepting this important task. Mr Yau said, "SMEs are the backbone of Hong Kong's economy. Over the years, the SMEC has provided a lot of constructive advice to the Government, and made significant contributions in supporting SMEs. I am confident that the new term of the SMEC, under the chairmanship of Mr Hui, will continue to offer valuable advice and assist the Government in formulating policies conducive to the development of SMEs.

"I would also like to thank Dr Jonathan Choi Koon-shum, the outgoing Chairman, and other outgoing members for their valuable contributions to the Government during their terms of office. Under Dr Choi's distinguished leadership, the roles and functions of the SMEC have been enhanced to better support and facilitate the development of SMEs."

The SMEC advises the Chief Executive on issues affecting the development of SMEs in Hong Kong, and suggests measures to support and facilitate their development and growth.

The 2019-2020 membership of the SMEC is as follows:

Mr Michael Hui Wah-kit (Chairman)

Non-official members

Professor Kevin Au Yuk-fai
Miss Mabel Chan Mei-bo
Ms Cheung Yee-mei
Dr Stephen Kwok Chun-pong
Ms Serena Lau Sze-wan
Mr Theodore Mak Chung-wo
Mr Jimmy Ng Wing-ka
Dr Thomas Su Yu-hong
Mrs Elizabeth Tse Wong Siu-yin
Mr Luther Wong Lok-tak
Mr Eric Yeung Chuen-sing
Dr Daniel Yip Chung-yin

Mr Kenneth Chan Kin-nin

(newly appointed)

Mr Joe Chau Kwok-ming Mr Stanley Szeto Chi-yan Mr Antonio Wong Shek-tung (newly appointed)

Ms Diana Wong (newly appointed) Mr Brian Wu Pak-hei (newly appointed)

(newly appointed)

(newly appointed)

Representative of the Hong Kong Productivity Council Representative of the Hong Kong Trade Development Council Representative of the Vocational Training Council

Official members

Director-General of Trade and Industry Deputy Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development