## <u>Appointments to Small and Medium</u> <u>Enterprises Committee</u>

The Government today (December 27) announced appointments to the new term of the Small and Medium Enterprises Committee (SMEC) for a period of two years with effect from January 1, 2025.

The SMEC comprises 27 members in the new term, with Mr Emil Yu Chen-on as the Chairman. Other non-official members mainly come from different trade, industry and professional sectors as well as small and medium enterprise (SME) practitioners.

The Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Algernon Yau, thanked the new Chairman and members for accepting the appointments. Mr Yau said, "SMEs are the backbone of Hong Kong's economy. Over the years, the SMEC has provided a lot of constructive advice to the Government, and made significant contributions in supporting the development of SMEs. I am confident that the SMEC, under the chairmanship of Mr Yu, will continue to offer valuable advice and suggestions, and assist the Government in formulating policies conducive to the development of SMEs, further bolstering Hong Kong's economy."

Mr Yau added, "I would like to thank the outgoing Chairman, Mr Michael Hui Wah-kit, and other outgoing members for their valuable contributions during their tenure. Under Mr Hui's distinguished leadership, the SMEC has served as a bridge between the Government and SMEs, effectively facilitating the development of SMEs in Hong Kong."

The SMEC advises the Chief Executive on issues affecting the development of SMEs in Hong Kong, and suggests measures to support and facilitate their development and growth.

The 2025-2026 membership of the SMEC is as follows:

Mr Emil Yu Chen-on (Chairman)

Non-official members

Mr Bryant Chan Wan-sing

Mr Jason Felix Chiu Tsz-kiu

Professor Chong Tai-leung

Ms Amy Chow

Mr Danny Ho Sin-fai

Ms Candy Hui Wing-ka

Ms Melody Ip Ying-ying

Mr Andrew Kwok Chi-wah

Ms Shirley Kwok Ho-yee

Mr Michael Lai Cheuk-pun

Ms Elaine Shiu Yin-ning

Ms Winnie Tung Mei-yee Dr Ellis Wong Wai-hung Mr Ernest Wong Yiu-kit Ms Tzena Wong Yuan-chin Mr Andrew Chan Shiu-shan (newly appointed) Mr Simon Hui Nga-yin (newly appointed) Mr Stanley Lee Kei-chuen (newly appointed) Dr Miranda Lou Lai-wah (newly appointed) Ms Jaclyn Ngan Ming-yun (newly appointed) Mr Kevin Orr Ka-yeung (newly appointed)

Representative of Hong Kong Productivity Council Representative of Hong Kong Trade Development Council Representative of Vocational Training Council

Official members

Director-General of Trade and Industry
Deputy Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development