Appointments to SFC Advisory Committee

The Government announced today (June 15) that the Financial Secretary, Mr Paul Chan, under the authority delegated by the Chief Executive, has appointed five new members and reappointed six serving members to the Advisory Committee of the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) for a term of two years from June 1, 2023, to May 31, 2025.

The membership of the SFC Advisory Committee for the new term is as follows:

New appointees

Professor Cai Hongbin Dr Jia Hongrui Mr Phillip Meyer Mr Harold Wong Tsu-hing Mr Wilfred Yiu Ka-yan

Reappointed members

Mr Freeman Chan Yuk-sing Ms Li Tong Ms Fion Ng Siu-mui Mr Tse Yung-hoi Ms June Wong Wai-man Ms Catherine Yien Yu-yu

A Government spokesman said, "The SFC Advisory Committee comprises members from different professions. They possess extensive operational experience and professional knowledge of the financial markets. We are confident that they will provide independent and professional advice to the SFC on matters related to the SFC's policy and market regulation."

The spokesman also paid tribute to the outgoing members, Professor Chan Ka-lok, Mrs Ann Kung Yeung Yun-chi, Ms Winnie Pun Wing-nin, Mr Calvin Tai Chi-kin, Dr Tan Yueheng and Mr Yim Lok-kui, and expressed gratitude for their valuable contributions during their terms.

The SFC Advisory Committee was established under Section 7 of the Securities and Futures Ordinance to advise the SFC on policy matters regarding its regulatory objectives and functions. In addition to the 11 appointed members, the SFC Advisory Committee comprises the Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and two Executive Directors of the SFC.