Appointments to SFC Advisory Committee

The Government announced today (May 26) that the Financial Secretary, Mr Paul Chan, under the authority delegated by the Chief Executive, has appointed four new members and re-appointed eight serving members to the Advisory Committee of the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC). All appointments are for a term of two years, from June 1, 2021, to May 31, 2023.

The membership of the SFC Advisory Committee for the new term is as follows:

New appointees

Ms Li Tong Ms Fion Ng Siu-mui Mr Calvin Tai Chi-kin Mr Tse Yung-hoi

Re-appointed members

Professor Chan Ka-lok Mr Freeman Chan Yuk-sing Mrs Ann Kung Yeung Yun-chi Ms Winnie Pun Wing-nin Dr Tan Yue-heng Ms June Wong Wai-man Ms Catherine Yien Yu-yu Mr Yim Lok-kui

A Government spokesman said, "The Advisory Committee of the SFC comprises practitioners from different professions. They possess operational experience and professional knowledge about the financial markets. The Government strongly believes that they will provide independent and professional advice to the SFC on matters related to the SFC's policy and market regulation."

The spokesman also paid tribute to the outgoing members, namely Mr Jeffrey Chan Lap-tak, Ms Ding Chen, Mr David Graham and Mr Yin Ke for their valuable contribution during their terms of appointment.

The Advisory Committee of the SFC was established under Section 7 of the Securities and Futures Ordinance to advise the SFC on policy matters regarding its regulatory objectives and functions.

In addition to the 12 appointed members, the Advisory Committee of the SFC comprises the Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and two Executive Directors of the SFC.