## <u>Appointments to Securities and Futures</u> <u>Appeals Tribunal</u>

The Government announced today (March 21) that the Financial Secretary has appointed, under the authority delegated by the Chief Executive, nine new members and reappointed 16 serving members to the Securities and Futures Appeals Tribunal (SFAT) for a term of two years from April 1, 2025, to March 31, 2027.

The membership of the SFAT for the new term is as follows:

## Chairmen

Mr Michael John Hartmann

Mr Michael Victor Lunn

Mr Ian Charles McWalters

## New appointees

Mr Johnny Chan Kok-chung

Mr Arthur Chan Sung-lai

Ms Annie Chen Poonis

Professor Terence Chong Tai-leung

Professor Fong Yuk-fai

Dr Jia Hongrui

Mr Ernest Lee Chun-ho

Dr Leung Chuen-yan

Mr Wiley Pun Wang-fung

## Reappointed members

Dr Chordio Chan Siu-ping

Ms Florence Chan Yuen-shan

Ms Lorna Chen Xin

Mr Gary Cheung Wai-kwok

Ms Ivy Chua Suk-lin

Mr Stephen Hung Wan-shun

Ms Sammy Koo Chi-sum

Dr Bankee Kwan Pak-hoo

Mr Lau Pak-wai

Ms Carol Lui Kit-fong

Mr Webster Ng Kam-wah

Mr Hamilton Ty Tang

Professor Tang Hei-wai

Dr Christopher To Wing

Mr Yip Chai-tuck

Mr Edward Yuen Siu-bun

The Government also expressed gratitude to the outgoing members. They are Professor Chan Ka-lok, Professor Chan Koon-hung, Ms Dilys Chau Suet-fung, Mr Kent Ho Ching-tak, Mr Peter Leung Ming-hym, Mrs Natalia Seng Sze Ka-mee and Ms Amelia Yau Yu-xin.

"The SFAT provides an effective safeguard to ensure that the relevant regulatory decisions are reasonable and fair, thus enhancing the accountability of the regulatory bodies concerned. We are thankful to the outgoing members for their service, which has effectively conserved the proper regulation of the securities and futures industry in Hong Kong," a Government spokesman said.

The SFAT is a statutory tribunal established under the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Cap. 571) (SFO). According to the law, the SFAT is chaired by a judge or former judge for hearing appeals against specified decisions made under the SFO by the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC), the Hong Kong Monetary Authority, and the investor compensation company recognised by the SFC.