## <u>Appointments to Securities and Futures</u> <u>Appeals Tribunal</u>

Under the authority delegated by the Chief Executive, the Financial Secretary has appointed nine new members and re-appointed 16 serving members to the Securities and Futures Appeals Tribunal (SFAT) from April 1, 2021, to March 31, 2023.

The membership of the SFAT for the new term is as follows:

New appointees

Professor Chan Ka-lok Mr Chordio Chan Siu-ping Ms Florence Chan Yuen-shan Ms Lorna Chen Xin Mr Gary Cheung Wai-kwok Mr Hamilton Ty Tang Dr Christopher To Wing Mr Yip Chai-tuck Mr Edward Yuen Siu-bun

Re-appointed members

Mr Vincent Chan Chun-hung Professor Chan Koon-hung Ms Mable Chan Mei-bo Ms Yvonne Cheng Wai-sum Ms Kerry Ching Kim-wai Ms Cindi Hui Ming-ming Mr Johnson Kong Chi-how Mr Nelson Lam Chi-yuen Mr Peter Leung Ming-hym Professor Leung Siu-fai Mr Mak Kwong-fai Ms Edith Shih Mr Simon Wong Hin-wing Mr Jamee Wong Kwok-ching Ms Amelia Yau Yu-xin Ms Wendy Yuen Miu-ling

Announcing the appointments today (March 29), a Government spokesman said, "The SFAT provides an effective safeguard to ensure that the relevant regulatory decisions are reasonable and fair. It enhances the accountability of the relevant regulatory bodies."

The Government also paid tribute to the outgoing members. They are Mr Jeffrey Chan Lap-tak, Mr Mohan Datwani, Mr Henry Lai Hin-wing, Dr Billy Mak Sui-choi, Mr Anthony Muh Yi-tong, Mr Gerry Ng Joo-yeow, Mr Roy Tsang Chi-wai, Ms Wendy Tsang Kam-yin and Ms Helen Zee.

"Their service to the SFAT provided an effective safeguard for the proper regulation of the securities and futures industry in Hong Kong," the spokesman said.

The SFAT is a statutory tribunal established under the Securities and Futures Ordinance (SFO). According to the law, the SFAT is chaired by a judge or former judge for hearing appeals against specified decisions made under the SFO by the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC), the Hong Kong Monetary Authority, and the investor compensation company recognised by the SFC. There are currently four chairmen on the SFAT, namely Mr Michael John Hartmann, Mr Michael Victor Lunn, Mr Kenneth Kwok Hing-wai, SC and Mr Garry Tallentire.