Appointments to Research Council

The Government today (September 23) announced the appointment of 16 nonofficial members to the Research Council for a term of two years, with effect from October 1, 2019.

The non-official members include seven new members and nine re-appointed members. The new members are Professor Juliana Chan Chung-ngor, Professor Keiji Fukuda, Professor Lin Chia-chin, Professor David Man Wai-kwong, Professor Tony Mok Shu-kam, Professor David Shum Ho-keung and Professor Martin Wong Chi-sang.

The Secretary for Food and Health (SFH), Professor Sophia Chan, expressed gratitude to the outgoing members, namely Ms Mabel Chau Man-ki, Professor Annie Cheung Nga-yin, Professor David Hui Shu-cheong, Professor Diana Lee Tze-fan, Professor Alexandros Molasiotis, Professor Joseph Sriyal Malik Peiris and Dr Gene Tsoi Wai-wang, for their dedication and invaluable contributions to the Council.

The Council, chaired by SFH, is responsible for providing strategic guidance for funding health and medical research, and overseeing the administration of the Health and Medical Research Fund including the allocation of funds for approved research and health promotion projects.

The membership list of the Council with effect from October 1, 2019 is as follows:

Chairperson: Secretary for Food and Health/Permanent Secretary for Food and Health (Health)

Members: Professor Juliana Chan Chung-ngor Dr Vincent Cheng Chi-chung Professor Keiji Fukuda Professor Timothy Kwok Chi-yui Professor Lau Chak-sing Professor Leung Suet-yi Professor Lin Chia-chin Professor Lyu Aiping Professor David Man Wai-kwong Professor Tony Mok Shu-kam Professor Hextan Ngan Yuen-sheung Professor David Shum Ho-keung Professor Martin Wong Chi-sang Professor Yeoh Eng-kiong Professor Yip Shea-ping Dr Yu Wai-cho Secretary for Innovation and Technology or representative Director of Health or representative Chief Executive of Hospital Authority or representative Dean of the Faculty of Medicine of the Chinese University of Hong Kong or representative Dean of the Li Ka Shing Faculty of Medicine of the University of Hong Kong or representative Head of Research Office, Food and Health Bureau (Secretary)